Playground Ban on Touching

When I read the CBC News Report about the ban on touching games on the playground, my first instinct was to shake my head.

They are banning all touching on playgrounds due to incidents of children getting hurt.

I’m sorry but are you kidding me? These are kids! They are suppose to fall and learn how to get back up, that’s life! That’s how children learn! They make mistakes and need to learn from them.

This is a temporary ban however, until the children learn how to play and ‘touch’ nicely.

So, for a short while at the elementary school, gone are the days of toilet tag and Red Rover. Ah Red Rover…

Red Rover Red Rover, We Call Common Sense Over!

I was always pretty good at Red Rover, I was small but my team could fling me like a cannon ball.

Anyway, How do you guys feel about a ‘touching’ ban for kindergarten students? Or if you’re feeling nostalgic like I am right about now, what were your favourite playground games and would you be able to play them under this ‘no touching’ rule?

2 thoughts on “Playground Ban on Touching

  1. Pingback: Please Don’t Play Tag. It’s Just Too Dangerous. | Pete and Jobin

  2. Pingback: Please Don’t Play Tag. It’s Just Too Dangerous. | Twenty-Four Problems

Leave a Reply

